A glimpse into county government

Published 9:29 am Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Senior students from Central High School (CHS) participated in the annual Student Government Day program held Wednesday, April 10, and Thursday, April 11. On Wednesday, students got to observe officials from County Administration, the Kenbridge and Victoria town offices and the county Planning and Economic Development office as they performed daily tasks. On Thursday, the students attended the April Lunenburg County Board of Supervisors meeting, which was held in the school gymnasium. Attending the meeting were District 75 Delegate Rosalyn Tyler and District 15 State Senator Frank Ruff. Afterward, officials and students enjoyed a lunch together hosted by CHS. The annual Student Government Day resulted as a partnership between CHS, the Lunenburg Rotary Club and the governments of Lunenburg County, the Town of Victoria and the Town of Kenbridge. Pictured after attending the Lunenburg County Board of Supervisors for Student Government Day are, front row from left, District 15 State Senator Frank Ruff, Nadya Bland, District 75 Delegate Rosalyn Tyler, Kierra Coles, Garbielle Aubel, Kayla Chaffin, Journee Coleman, Karen Hernandez, Holly Gonzalez, Love’s Mill District Supervisor Edward Pennington, Lunenburg County Adminsitrator Tracy Gee; back row, from left, Lunenburg County Public Schools Superintendent Charles Berkley, Meherrin River District Supervisor Robert Zava, County Attorney Frank Rennie, Beaver Creek District Supervisor Frank Bacon, Board Chairman and Rehoboth Supervisor Charles Slayton, Eva Mills, Sam Watson, Tyler Neal, Nehemiah Wood, Courtney Brostek, Colton Hinkle, Brown’s Store District Supervisor Mike Hankins, Holden Gowen and Danelle Eppes.