FSA County Committee elections underway

Published 6:18 am Monday, December 7, 2015

Farm Service Agency (FSA) began mailing ballots to eligible farmers and ranchers across the country for the 2015 FSA County Committee elections on Monday, Nov. 9. Producers must return ballots to their local FSA offices by Monday to ensure that their vote is counted.

The area up for election this year is LAA#3, which is the area of Lunenburg County west of Meherrin and Highway 49. The nominees for the election are: Bonnie Thompson, Linda A Chumney and Lynn Blackwood.

County committee members represent the farmers and ranchers in their communities.

Producers elected to these committees have always played a vital role in local agricultural decisions. They are essential to the daily operation of nearly 2,200 offices across the country.

It is a valued partnership that helps us better understand the needs of the farmers and ranchers we serve.

Nearly 7,700 FSA County Committee members serve FSA offices nationwide. Each committee has three to 11 elected members who serve three-year terms of office.

One-third of county committee seats are up for election each year.

County committee members apply their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs; conservation programs; indemnity and disaster programs; emergency programs and eligibility.

Farmers and ranchers began receiving their ballots the week of Nov. 9. Ballots include the names of candidates running for the local committee election.

FSA has modified the ballot, making it more easily identifiable and less likely to be overlooked.

Voters in LAA#3 who do not receive ballots can pick one up at their local FSA office. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than Monday, Dec. 7. Newly elected committee members and their alternates will take office Jan. 1.

For more information, visit the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.