Local officers win awards

Published 6:24 am Monday, December 7, 2015

Southside Virginia Community College recently hosted the ninth annual Law Enforcement Awards Banquet on the Christanna Campus in Alberta. The event invites local law enforcement to select an Officer of the Year to receive an award and be recognized during the event. Alfonzo R. Seward and Dr. Tara Carter presented awards. Pictured are, from left,  (front row) Trooper Jason P. Peck, Virginia State Police; Alfonzo Seward, assistant professor of administration of justice at SVCC; Officer Seth A. Myers, Blackstone Police Department; Katina C. Mason, Greensville County Sheriff’s Office; Trooper Joshua R. Carter, Virginia State Police; Detective Ella Turner, Crewe Police Department; Officer D.W. Medlin, Victoria Police Department; Officer Justin T. Anderson, Kenbridge Police Department; (back row) Dr. Tara Carter, vice president, academic and student affairs at SVCC; Senior Trooper David K. Pendergrass, Virginia State Police; Investigator Adam E. Martin, Lunenburg County Sheriff’s Office; Officer William M. King, Emporia Police Department; Deputy Clay Sasser, Brunswick County Sheriff’s Office; Officer William W. Stembridge, Chase City Police Department; Officer T.R. Jimmerson, Jr., South Hill Police Department; Deputy Davis A. Cumbia, Mecklenburg County Sheriff’s Office; Corporal Tim Garner, Clarksville Police Department; and Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian J. Moran.