Annual banquet recognizes volunteers

Published 7:17 pm Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Meherrin Volunteer Fire and Rescue recognized several members of its organization and their families for dedication and services during its annual banquet Saturday.

During the event, the new administrative and operational officers for 2017 were installed by Jerry Townsend, who represents the Leigh District on the Prince Edward County Board of Supervisors.

Additionally, James Hurt presented several awards, including the Fireman of the Year Award to Jacob Taylor, the EMS of the Year Award to Trey Pyle and training awards to both David Grey and Derrick Lee.

Townsend swore in Hurt, president; Donnie Herzig, vice president; Erin Pyle, secretary and Jerry Barton, chaplain, who will serve as administrative officers. Incoming treasurer Renee Dolan was not present.

Also sworn in by Townsend were the operational officers: Chief Andrew Tatum, Assistant Chief Leon Scott, Captain Taylor, EMS Captain Trey Pyle and EMS First Lt. Sally Pyle. Engineer Curtis Nash was not present.

“Without the love and support of family at home, we wouldn’t be where we are today,” Tatum said during his chief’s report.

He said the department responded to 471 fire and EMS incidents last year. “I want to see our department continue to provide the best quality service we can … I’m big on constantly reviving our methods; I want to continue to do that.”

During his speech, Townsend praised the volunteer fire and rescue members for their dedication and hard work.

“Trust me, when it’s all said and done, you’re appreciated. We’re quick to say when something’s not right and slow to say when it is.”

Townsend called the group leaders in the community, noting, “You save lives. You put your life on the line to help save someone else’s life.”