Hankins wins seat

Published 11:56 am Wednesday, November 8, 2017

J.M. “Mike” Hankins will continue to serve as the Brown’s Store District representative with the Lunenburg County Board of Supervisors following a special election for the seat, according to unofficial results of Tuesday’s election from the Virginia Department of Elections and the Lunenburg County Circuit Court.

Hankins carried 59.41 percent of the votes, with 262 votes.

Browns Store District supervisor candidate Wanda Gordon Morrison carried 40.59 percent of the vote, or 179 votes.

Hankins was appointed the interim Brown’s Store District supervisor in March after the passing of supervisor David Wingold, who died as a result of infection-related complications from a surgery to repair a fractured vertebra.

Prior to Hankins’ appointment to the board, Hankins said in a previous article he worked in the political arena for 20 years.

Hankins thanked voters and said in a comment that he will strive to bring change to the county.

“I will continue to work for you to find as many ways as I can to save money for the county, make sure our schools have what is needed, and try to bring jobs back to Lunenburg,” Hankins said.

Del. Tommy Wright (R) in the 61st district saw a number of Lunenburg voters vote in his favor. Wright, who ran unopposed, received 2,088 votes according to the Virginia Department of Elections website.

Del. Roslyn C. Tyler (D) in the 75th district ran unopposed and received 762 votes.

Other supervisors running in the election included Plymouth District supervisor T. Wayne Hoover, who ran unopposed and received 354 votes.

Beaver Creek supervisor Frank W. Bacon, who ran unopposed and received 476 votes. Meherrin River supervisor Robert G. “Bobby” Zava, who ran unopposed and received 378 votes.

School Board candidates who ran unopposed include District One representative Donald Barry Carnes with 362 votes, District Three supervisor Beverley Hawthorne with 471 votes and District Seven supervisor Amy Newcomb McClure with 392 votes.

For the gubernatorial election, Lunenburg voters gave Edward W. “Ed” Gillespie (R) 59.14 percent of the vote, or 2,158 votes, Ralph S. Northam (D) 40.23 percent of the vote, or 1,468 votes and Clifford D. Hyra, (L) 0.63 percent of the vote, or 23 votes.