Seventh grade graduation at Kenston Forest

Published 9:33 am Wednesday, June 20, 2018

The Seventh Grade Class of Kenston Forest School (KFS) held their graduation May 30, in the KFS Gymnasium.

Valedictorian for the 2018 seventh grade class is Sophia Isabella Llanos Crowder, daughter of Jimmie and Wella Crowder of South Hill; Salutatorian is Rylee Alyssa Wilkerson daughter of Bill and Tonya Wilkerson of Crewe; and Historian is Jesse Daniel Agatep Rimon son of Dr. Desi and Genie Rimon of South Hill.

The Frances Farley Farrar (Fairer) Citizenship Award: Frances Farley Farrar (Fairer) was a local Blackstone citizen, who in her life, stressed character and contributed generously in both time and love to KFS students. This year’s recipient of the Frances Farley Farrar Award is Penelope Lauren Woody daughter of Tiffany Lafoon of South Hill and Jim Woody of Charlottesville.

The Bitsy Hardy Award: Mrs. S. Gray Hardy (Bitsy) was one of many whose efforts helped to fulfill the dream of KFS. Her concern and support for young people in the area, as well as her desire to encourage cultural experiences for youth in the community, has been an inspiration to those who worked with her. Hardy served on the board of directors for 15 years. She spent many hours seeking funds to provide the facilities enjoyed today; among her chief projects was the Kenston Forest gymnasium. This year’s recipient of the Bitsy Hardy Award is Jesse Daniel Agatep Rimon son of Dr. Desi and Genie Rimon of South Hill.

David Wade Wright Spirit Award goes to Avery Elizabeth Tucker, daughter of John and Mary Tucker of Dinwiddie.

Virginia B. Crawley History Award: The Virginia B. Crawley History Award is presented to the student with the highest academic average in social studies. Virginia Crawley was a longtime resident of Blackstone. She taught seventh grade at the Blackstone Day School for many years and at Kenston Forest for one year prior to her retirement in 1982. As a teacher, Crawley’s first love was Virginia history. She was dedicated to providing her students with a broad knowledge of their state’s history and instilling in them a deep appreciation for their rich Virginia heritage. This year the recipient of the Virginia B. Crawley Award is Jacob Connor Witt, son of Skip and Pam Witt of Church Road.

Future Historians, Crowder and Rylee Alyssa Wilkerson.

Science Award, (highest academic average) Crowder.

Mathematics Award, (highest academic average) Crowder and Ethan Tyler Thomas son of Will and Jayne Thomas of Crewe.

Excellence in English: (highest academic average) Crowder and Jesse Daniel Agatep Rimon.

Excellence in Literature: (highest academic average) Crowder.