Chamber elects board

Published 11:41 am Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Members of the Lunenburg Chamber of Commerce elected new leadership and voted on the Citizen of the Year and Business of the Year awards during its most recent meeting Thursday. Chamber President Mel Payne, Vice President Carol Watson and Treasurer Bernice Thompson were re-elected following votes from board members.

The secretary position, previously held by Trudy Berry, was made into two positions. Glenn Millican was elected as recording secretary, Ashley Sweitzer was elected as the corresponding secretary.

Beverley Hawthorne was elected to her second, three-year term with the Chamber board of directors, and Chris Craft was elected to his first, three-year term with the board of directors.

Nominees for the Business of the Year award were Marino’s Italian Restaurant in Victoria and Clarke and Staples Funeral Home, considered one business.

Nominees for Citizen of the Year were Ellen Williams Neal, Janet Johnson and Robert Ledbetter. Chamber members voted for the nominees, but the winners will not be announced until the annual Chamber banquet, Saturday, Jan. 19, 2019, at the Victoria Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) Post.

“We’ve had a lot of fun this past year,” Payne said during the meeting. “We already have plans for a couple of the events next year.”

The November meeting will be the last chamber meeting for 2018.