Law Enforcement Awards Banquet held

Published 5:36 pm Wednesday, December 12, 2018

The 11th Annual Law Enforcement Awards Banquet was hosted by Southside Virginia Community College on Nov. 29. The event featured local law enforcement officers chosen to receive Officer of the Year awards for their department. Those attending and receiving the award are pictured from left, Dr. Alfonzo Seward, SVCC Associate Professor of Administration of Justice, Detective Carie Watters, South Hill Police Department; Sgt. William V. Smith, Brunswick County Sheriff’s Office; Josh Stone, Clarksville Police Department; Deputy Robert Sawyer, Nottoway County Sheriff’s Office; Deputy Sheriff Davis Cumbia, Mecklenburg County Sheriff’s Department; Virginia State Trooper Natalie Jimenez, Area 35; Sgt. William Stembridge, Chase City Police Department; Captain David Shidell, Emporia Police Department; Deputy Jimmy Lee Pair, Greenville County Sheriff’s Office; Virginia State Trooper William Dean II, Area 22; Matthew Gatling, Victoria Police Department; and Guest Speaker First Sergeant George Crespo, Virginia State Police. (Send a “Pic Me Up” with names and information to