Honoring those who serve

Published 4:27 pm Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Meherrin Volunteer Fire & Rescue is described on its website as a 24/7 full service public safety agency.

The department provides fire suppression, rescue/extrication services, public education, fire prevention and both basic and advanced life support emergency medical service in both Lunenburg and Prince Edward counties.

Recently Meherrin Fire and Rescue held its annual awards banquet, and I would like to commend all of the department members who were honored for their service at that event.

As a journalist, I have developed familiarity with some of the members in connection to different calls they respond to that I need to report on. I have received valuable assistance from members like Steve Thompson, Fire Chief Trey Pyle and President Leon Scott.

There have been many times that it was Steve who gave me the initial tip on an incident and the basic details, so I knew who to reach out to for more information. Frequently the people I would need to reach out to would be Chief Pyle or President Scott or even the Virginia State Police.

I have a great deal of respect for the work that the members of the department do on a daily basis, volunteering their time to perform this public service that is of the highest importance.

Billy Johnson Sr. was named Firefighter of the Year for the department, and he also received the J.T. Newman Training Award. Chief Pyle was named Emergency Medical Technician of the Year. Thompson received the Outstanding Service honor.

Meherrin Fire and Rescue will run a lot of calls over the course of a year, and the department recognized those members who were heavily involved in that process, both for emergency medical services (EMS) and for fire.

President Scott came in first for Top EMS Call Runner. Chief Pyle received the honor for second, and Derrice Lee received the honor for third.

Jacob Taylor came in first for Top Fire Call Runner. President Scott received the award for second, and J.R. Newman received the honor for third.

Ernie Pyle Jr. was recognized for 30 years of service. Sally Pyle and J.R. Newman were each highlighted for 10 years of service, and recognition for five years of service went to Kelli Taylor.

Receiving honorary membership status were James Hurt Jr. and Jason Poore.

Thank you to all of the Meherrin Fire & Rescue members for your faithful service.

Titus Mohler is the sports editor for The Kenbridge-Victoria Dispatch and Farmville Newsmedia LLC. His email address is Titus.Mohler@KVDispatch.com.